Factbox: Cricket – First Ashes Evaluation

(Reuters) – Following is a factbox on the initial test match between Australia and England, which begins on Thursday:


The Gabba, Brisbane – Capacity: 42,000

The Gabba, named for the Woolloongabba suburb that encircles it, has a been a fortress for Australia from the 28 evaluations since the West Indies would be the last traveling team to win there in 1988.

England last won at the ground in 1986 – only their second test victory in Brisbane since World War 2 – ahead of the contemporary cement jar replaced the wooden racks and open grass banks.

Steve Harmison’s first-ball delivery to second slide famously set the tone for Australia’s 2006-07 whitewash and Mitchell Johnson’s devastating day two spell 2013-14 triggered a second.

A lively, greentop wicket is expected in the beginning, offering pace and bounce for the seamers, together with twist coming into play as an attacking option in case it remains dry and the strip pops later in the match.


Nov. 23-27. Play begins at 1000 local time (0000 GMT)

AUSTRALIA (World ranking: fifth)

Squad – David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Steve Smith (captain), Jackson Bird, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc

Coach: Darren Lehmann

ENGLAND (World ranking: third)

Squad – Joe Root (captain), Moeen Ali, Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Mason Crane, Tom Curran, Ben Foakes, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Mark Stoneman, James Vince, Chris Woakes



Umpires: Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Marais Erasmus (South Africa)

TV umpire: Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (West Indies)


Previous Australia v England evaluations in Brisbane

1933 England 6 wickets

1936 England 322 runs

1946 Australia inns & 332 runs

1950 Australia 70 runs

1954 Australia inns & 154 runs

1958 Australia 8 wickets

1974 Australia 166 runs

1978 England 7 wickets

1982 Australia 7 wickets

1986 England 7 wickets

1990 Australia 10 wickets

1994 Australia 184 runs

2002 Australia 384 runs

2006 Australia 277 runs

2013 Australia 381 runs


Second test Dec. 2-6 (0330) Adelaide Oval (Day-Night)

Third test Dec. 14-18 (0230) WACA, Perth

Fourth test Dec. 26-30 (2330) Melbourne Cricket Ground

Fifth test Jan. 4-8 (2330) Sydney Cricket Ground

* Odds due to www.skybet.com

Developed by Nick Mulvenney, Tracking by Peter Rutherford